Santa Claus is coming to town

Wouldn’t you know, the week before Christmas that Becca gets sick. Poor thing. However I have an awesome update. Becca is on the very cusp to talking to us. She has become quite the little chatter bug. She is speaking in her own “becca-ease”, a language only she knows. But her talking is music to my ears. It has become a daily thing, so I’m more confident in her new ability. She is also consistently signing “more”. Yesterday I overheard her playing with her toy telephone, one of those new Fisher Price remakes of the old rotary toy telephone many of us had as kids. I heard her playing with it, and chattering away. I did not dare enter the den where she was playing. I knew this would interrupt the special moment. I could only stand there in the kitchen and listen to the “ringa ringa” of the phone and her special language.

She is on antibiotics again. Mommy instinct proved right again in taking her to the pediatrician. Her lungs are all full of mucous sounds. I could hear that without a stethoscope. I hope that she starts feeling a bit better for Christmas. I was really looking forward to this being the first year she would be into opening presents. I had a plan to attack seizures before Christmas so that she would have optimal control, and not require Diastat on Christmas morning.

Of course, even if she is sick, even if we do have to use Diastat her language development is the best gift I could have asked for this year.

I’ll try to update again early next week, with information about her visit from Santa Claus.

Until then, have a Blessed day and a Very Merry Christmas.

“For a child will be born to us, a son will be given to us; And the government will rest on His shoulders; And His name will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Eternal Father, Prince of Peace.”

We love comments. Please talk to us

